January 28 – Blueberry Pancake Day

Granted, I’m not going to be an expert on this particular national food day, and I never will be. So far I’ve gone along smacking my lips and salivating like the rest of you over every day and the delicious foods that came with them, but today? Not so much. :-\ I’ve never been a huge fan of blueberries, in any form, and blueberry pancakes are no exception. But, that doesn’t mean I can’t report on the overwhelmingly undisputed King of Blueberry Pancakes in New York City.

The Clinton St. Baking Company is a staple in the Lower East Side: what looks like a humble diner packs a serious comfort food punch among the locals. You will easily see lines running out the door to snag a table for brunch here on the weekends. It’s one of the reasons I’ve never been able to eat there yet: I just don’t have the fortitude to wake up early enough to get a seat! Their signature blueberry pancakes have been voted best in the city twice in a row by NY Magazine. And famed New York City (and television) chef Bobby Flay challenged the restaurant’s chefs to a blueberry pancake Throwdown on his show. When you’re talking about blueberry pancake pedigree, this place is it. And the best part is, the restaurant has recently opened up to also serve lunch and dinner–which includes breakfast for dinner, all day long. Still, I’d try to get there early, considering the amount of buzz this place generates, even twelve years after it first opened!

Clinton St. Baking Company
4 Clinton St (between Avenue B & Houston St)

www.clintonstreetbaking.com

“What originally put Clinton Street Baking Company & Restaurant on the map was its impeccable brunch line-up, from its signature blueberry pancakes to its mouthwatering buttermilk biscuit sandwich with scrambled eggs, melted cheddar, and tomato jam.”–NY Magazine

“There’s a reason that the wait for brunch at Clinton Street Baking Co. can be hours long and down the block. Neil Kleinberg, who opened the lower East Side restaurant with his wife DeDe Lahman 11 years ago, makes the fluffiest pancakes in all of New York City. The $13 Wild Maine Blueberry flapjacks, offered all day every day, are stacked three high and served with Kleinberg’s famous maple butter sauce, which gives the pancakes a melt-in-your-mouth goodness.”–NY Daily News

Some reviews from Yelp.com:

“Two words. Blueberry pancakes. Wow! “…So fluffy I wanna die!” I emphasize I am not a pancake gal however after hearing raving reviews, I had to try for myself. They are amazing pillows of heaven served with fresh delicious blueberries and then a side of warm maple syrup. If you’re going to come here for anything, come here for the pancakes!”–Jessica C.

“The blueberry pancakes deserve their own paragraph! Fluffy, but not overly so. Buttery and sweet. With just the right amount of blueberries inside each pancake and compote on top. The warm maple butter brought it over the top! My companion and I wanted more maple butter, but when we learned they charged, we decided against it. The pancakes were plenty good without having to douse them anyhow.”–Marie B.