Who doesn’t love peanut butter??? (Well, those with peanut allergies, I guess, but that’s so sad…) Although many believe that scientist George Washington Carver invented peanut butter (since he created so many other ways to use peanuts in everyday life), the creamy paste of peanuts has been around since the Aztecs, and a French Canadian inventor came up with the process that makes it as creamy and yummy as it is today. Peanut butter is high in protein and also includes a lot of fiber, making it a perfect nutritional tool for vegetarians and picky kid eaters alike. And fans of culinary variety love the fact that peanut butter is so versatile: you can have it crunchy or smooth, with such added flavorings as honey, maple syrup, chocolate, and the universal favorite, jelly!

Last year I celebrated the best place in New York City for your peanut butter–Peanut Butter Co., of course! They make 8 different varieties of their homemade peanut butter to either take home by the jar, or scarf down in their West Village storefront in such great sandwiches as the Flutternutter and the Elvis. They even have a cookbook you can take home to try out all the greatest peanut butter recipes!

Peanut Butter Day fell in the middle of the week this year, so for lunch at work one day I packed myself a sandwich I made using one of Peanut Butter Co.’s easy yet delicious sandwich recipes. And let me tell you, having a peanut butter sandwich for lunch? Makes you feel like such a kid again!

PB Cup Sandwich
From The Peanut Butter & Co. Cookbook

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons Crunch Time peanut butter
2 slices white bread
2 tablespoons Nutella

Directions:
1. Spread the peanut butter on one slice of bread and the Nutella on the other.
2. Place the two slices together and slice in half diagonally.

Instead of Peanut Butter & Co.’s brand Crunch Time peanut butter, I used the peanut butter I had on hand, which was Skippy honey nut creamy peanut butter (I admit it, I’m a creamy girl!) I also used wheat bread instead of white, because it’s easier to spread peanut butter onto a more substantial piece of bread…and because it’s what I had in the house at the time. 😛 You really can’t go wrong with chocolate hazelnut spread, peanut butter, and bread: it made me feel so happy and youthful to eat it for lunch at work. Maybe I’ll even make it again for World Nutella Day in a few weeks 😉

