Hi, all! It’s been a whopping whole…three days since I’ve made a post, lol. But for me, after making at least one post per day, that’s a long time to be away! I wanted to do something to keep this blog active, even though my calendar year of National Food Holidays is over and complete. So I’ve come up with a few ideas to keep the blog current and (hopefully) keep you reading!

First, I want to start cooking. I know, one part of making the National Food Holidays in NYC blog is that there are already tons of blogs dedicated to making the food holiday being celebrated each day. And the other reason for making this blog with its unique spin was because so many New Yorkers don’t cook! But I really enjoy cooking, and it’s fun to step out of your comfort zone and try new recipes for foods you may have never looked at before. (And the joy of New York City is, if whatever you attempted to cook ends up being unfit for human consumption, lol, there’s always a takeout place down the block!) Plus, my boyfriend just got a slow cooker for Christmas, and he’s Emeril-ing it up on a regular basis–and I want to encourage him to cook more with new and interesting recipe ideas. And it’ll definitely be cheaper than going to all these restaurants every day!

But I don’t have the energy, time, or desire to make every food listed on the National Food Holidays calendar. (I don’t like blueberries, so National Blueberry Pancakes Day is out, and I’m not even going to TOUCH National Roast Suckling Pig Day, lol.) So I’m going to take at least one holiday per week and try to cook it–whether it be something I’ve never tried before, like making homemade kimchi for National Cabbage Day, or something as simple and yummy as Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day. And, as often as I can, I will use the actual dishes and recipes from the restaurants I’ve highlighted in the past year–to really tie the whole blog together! I hope you come join me on my culinary adventures over the next year 🙂

Speaking of recipes…if you want to celebrate one of the national food holidays at home, I’m going to track down the available recipes for each restaurant’s highlighted dish and post each restaurant’s recipe on the blog. Want to learn how Harry’s Bar makes the original Bloody Mary? Dying to see who’s come up with the closest chocolate chip cookie recipe to the world-famous Levain Bakery? I’ll bring it to you here! Some of those recipes I’ll definitely want to try for myself, but others–like Momofuku Ssam Bar’s Roast Pork Butt and Babbo’s Beef Cheek Ravioli–are either too complicated for a home cook like me, or I have no interest in making it myself. But that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t give ti the old college try!

And lastly, just as a courtesy of the blog, I want to let everyone know when a restaurant closes on the national food holiday list. The restaurant business is an unforgiving industry, and a restaurant, bakery, or store can close for any number of reasons, from health code violations to financial troubles to natural disasters, as we saw back in November. So, both in a new post that day and on the original post, I’ll make a note if a restaurant whose cuisine has been highlighted is closed. Wouldn’t want to trek all the way to Harlem for the best sweet potato pie, or to Staten Island for the city’s best ices, only to find out it had closed months ago!

So, in a nutshell, that’s the direction the blog will be taking. I hope you continue to join me in reading about all these great New York City restaurants, and the National Food Holiday calendar that’s kept me intrigued and writing all through 2012. And let’s hope 2013 is full of more great posts…and great food!

