Hahaha, since I only decided how I was going to continue this blog last night, I didn’t get to update the national food holiday posts on the first two days of the year!

On January 1, I hope everyone slept late and woke up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed…but if you didn’t, then maybe a little too much of the midnight champagne went to your head! Attack that hangover with a little “hair of the dog,” for National Bloody Mary Day! Back when we celebrated Bloody Mary Day last year, I highlighted the King Cole Bar in the St. Regis Hotel, where one of the alleged originators of the cocktail, Fernand Petroit, went to work in 1934. You can try to get into the St. Regis and lay down the rest of your Christmas money for a Bloody Mary–or, a “Red Snapper” as it’s called there, and has been since the Thirties–or make one for yourself right at home!

Red Snapper (original Bloody Mary)

(from The New York Times)

Ingredients:
1 ounce of vodka
2 ounces of tomato juice
1 dash of lemon juice
2 dashes of salt
2 dashes of black pepper
2 dashes of cayenne pepper
3 dashes Worcestershire sauce

Directions:
1. Add the salt, peppers, Worcestershire sauce and lemon juice to a shaker glass.
2. Add ice, vodka and tomato juice. Shake, pour into a highball glass, garnish if you wish, and serve.

I’m not going to be trying out this recipe because I’m not a huge drinker–and when I do drink, I prefer my cocktails to be super-sweet, not spicy. And I’ve got no hangover to nurse, so no needs for a cure!

 

And some sad news: last year on January 2 I highlighted the East Village bakery Led Zeppole for National Cream Puff Day. Unfortunately Led Zeppole closed, so their Italian flair on the French cream puff is no more. But don’t despair! If you still have a hankering for cream puffs, the cream puff chain Beard Papa’s is still alive and kicking on the Upper West Side. Check out the original page for more info!

