Well, yesterday we had National Cake Day, and from now until the end of the month, basically, we’re still indulging in the sweet treats for national food holidays! Today is National Bavarian Cream Pie Day, a celebration of that thick, gooey, custard-y glob of happiness known as Bavarian cream. Made of custard, whipped cream, gelatin, and a variety of flavors, Bavarian cream is thicker than other creams thanks to the egg-heavy custard, and makes for a great filling in a cake, pie, or the ubiquitous Bavarian cream donut. Whenever there’s a dish of finger-food pastries in front of me during a special occasion, I always try to pick out one filled with sweet, gooey cream–because everything is better when it’s filled with Bavarian cream!

So if you want to get your creamy fix today, head to the old staple in the East Village, one of my favorite old-time pastry shops to visit in all of New York: Veniero’s Pastry Shop. Open for both take-out and dine-in (I suggest savoring it right in the shop!), Veniero’s pastries are all old-school and classic: tiny eclairs, profiteroles, little cream puffs topped with chocolate sauce, and cannolis of all shapes, sizes, and flavors. There are so many goodies here I could barely describe all of them! But make sure to get a pastry filled with Bavarian cream today: made in-house, the fluffy, flaky puff pastry will be fresh as you can get it, and the Bavarian cream dense, gooey, and sweet. The recipes haven’t changed since Veniero’s opened right on this spot in 1894, so head to this New York institution and see what’s kept business booming for so long!

Veniero’s Pastry Shop
342 E 11th St (between 2nd Ave & 1st Ave)

http://www.venierospastry.com/

Some reviews from Yelp.com:

“I’m a native new yorker and I’ve been going to Veniero’s since the mid 80’s. Service and quality have gone down a bit but its a bit expected. I’ve never been to the cafe as I don’t need to. Have tried almost everything in that store from the cookies, cheesecake, gelatos…as a matter of fact, I think I have tried everything with exception to the coffee. My favorites are the original milifoglie (w/o strawberries)….it has the most amazing bavarian cream filling and its out of this world. My fav since the 80’s. My favorite cake is the Fruit Supreme and the regular cake with whipped cream and bavarian filling.”–Jac C.

“The bavarian cream is out of this world! It’s so lusciously smooth and delicioso! Check out the strawberry shortcake, and the new banana chocolate strawberry shortcake, it’s so moist, luscious, sweet, but not too sweet, and light! It’s not heavy at all, I hate heavy creams, this one is not heavy at all!”–Pearl H.

 

Make sure you check out the updated NYC Food Holidays Map to find this most recent holiday!

