When I was a kid, man, you couldn’t get me to not eat a creme-filled donut if it was available. I don’t know many children–or adults, for that matter–who would rather choose the dry, flaky, holed donuts instead of a creme-filled one, with that perfect balance of textures, tastes, and even temperatures, the cool creme filling blending perfectly with a warm, just-baked donut. Arguably the Boston Creme Donut is the most popular of creme-filled donut varieties, mimicking a Boston Creme Pie with its chocolate frosting and vanilla custard filling. BUT, since we are in New York City and celebrating anything with “Boston” in the name would be sacrilege, I’ll focus on another type of creme-filled donut to celebrate this national food holiday 😉

So instead we head to Greenpoint, Brooklyn, where one of the best creme-filled donuts has absolutely nothing to do with Beantown. Peter Pan Bakery is a small, unassuming bakery in the neighborhood, but it is a flavor powerhouse when it comes to donuts. Apart from its specialty–an ice cream sandwich that uses a split glazed donut as the pieces of “bread”–their donuts are baked fresh daily and absolutely delicious. Their white cream-filled donuts, which has more of the consistency of whipped cream than custard, have developed a cult following for how good they are. And, in case you want to fool yourself into thinking your donut is nominally “healthy,” they also offer whole wheat versions of…well, their deep-fried sweet dough we call donuts 😉 Peter Pan Bakery gained some notoriety when famous comedian, New Yorker, and donut aficionado Tina Fey celebrated it in an interview with Esquire magazine. That’s a way better endorsement than I could ever give!

Peter Pan Bakery
727 Manhattan Ave, Greenpoint

“The best doughnut? That’s Peter Pan doughnuts in Brooklyn. It’s a Polish bakery. We shot nearby once for 30 Rock. It’s a white-cream-filled powdered doughnut. And I really believe, when I first tried it, if I had a penis, I would put it in this doughnut. I finally understand what you guys are thinking about and what motivates you guys.”–Tina Fey in Esquire Magazine

Some reviews from Yelp.com:

“Stopped by here on Christmas Eve as a detour while looking for a restaurant to dine for dinner. Most donuts were gone so that was an indication to me that they must be so good. Picked up 2 white cream donuts for $2. Ate one at home and I was in heaven. The white cream filling was so delicious and satisfied my dessert craving. Would love to try their other donuts.”–Roya B.

“If only they offered “to go tubes” of the heavenly white fluffy cream filling. I would carry one with me everywhere. Then I could pump my stomach full at any moment. (sigh) Cute Polish girls serving fluffy donuts made from a sacred recipe, and four of us ate for SIX DOLLARS. In the city, you can’t take piss for under $20. What more can you ask for?”–Charles L.

 

Make sure you check out the updated NYC Food Holidays Map to find this most recent holiday!

